Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Foreign Aid
United States
- USAID (The United States Agency for International Development)U.S. agency, created by JFK in 1961, primarily responsible for administering civilian foreign aid.
- ForeignAssistance.govForeignAssistance.gov is the U.S. government’s flagship website for making U.S. foreign assistance data available to the public. Detailed disaggregated obligation and disbursement data on the 30 U.S. Government agencies implementing foreign assistance for 2001-present. Aggregate historical data (1946-2000) available as well.
- U.S. Overseas Loans, and Grants, and Assistance from International OrganizationsAn annual report to Congress, commonly known as the Greenbook. The online version provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world, while the printed version provides yearly information.
- Paid Shipments - Economic Cooperation Administration1949-1951. Print only.
1953-1954. Under the title Allotments, Authorizations, and Paid Shipments Print only.
Monthly reports containing data on shipments of products purchased by the Economic Cooperation Administration. - Foreign Assistance Program1962-1971. Annual report to congress describing a fiscal year's technical and financial assistance to less developed nations. 1962 edition published under the title Report to the Congress on the Foreign Assistance Program for Fiscal Year... Print only.
International
- Aid DataA resource list on the International Inter-Governmental & Non-Governmental Organizations research guide.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This resource contains development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The data is compiled by the World Bank from officially-recognized international sources. Aid data includes the aid a country receives along with indicators of poverty and human welfare.
2005-current available online.
1997-current (incomplete) available on CD-ROM. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database returns citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Find the items through a search in the UW Libraries Catalog, Google Books, or request the document through Interlibrary Loan. Use the search term "economic assistance" to retrieve documents related to foreign aid.
- Development Aid at a Glance
- This link opens in a new window
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 2006-2008. Organized by region, this publication by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is focused on various aspects of foreign aid. Reports available for download in PDF format.
- Human Rights Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980-present. Foreign economic aid is often tied to various humanitarian assistance projects. This database contains documents from hundreds of organizations worldwide including USAID. Articles available for download in PDF format.
Foreign Aid
Image made by an employee in the Marking and Labeling Office of the Mutual Security Agency, Eleanor Gault, in 1953. During her research, Gault discovered that "clasped hands" have been recognized as a sign of unity, goodwill, and cooperation for centuries and "could serve to identify the aid as part of the mutual effort with mutual benefits shared by our country and friends around the world." Courtesy of the U.S. Government [Public domain].