Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Indexes
Starting Points
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new windowDescriptive records for historical and current federal publications; search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on Advanced Search for more options.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to historical information published by the U.S. federal government, 1895-1976.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-2004 (Hein)Descriptive index of current and historical publications including those distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program, via Hein Online
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Statistical Insight is an index with abstracts; enter your search terms, then narrow the results using the filters in the righthand bar.
- Proquest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Congressional is an index with abstracts; enter your search terms, then narrow the results using the filters in the righthand bar. Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus.
- MarciveWeb DOCS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to US government documents, 1976 to present
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetGuide to using and accessing the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Print and Microfiche Sources
- Checklist of United States Public Documents1789-1909: congressional: to close of sixtieth Congress; departmental: to end of calendar year 1909.
- CIS Annual1970-2011. Indexes congressional documents such as committee prints, reports, hearings, and other materials relating to the creation of public laws. This index forms the core of the Proquest Congressional database (Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus).
- CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamationspt.1. Apr. 30, 1789 to Mar. 4, 1921, George Washington to Woodrow Wilson (10 v.) -- pt. 2. Mar. 4, 1921 to Dec. 31, 1980, Warren Harding to Ronald Reagan (11 v. in 12)
- CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index1833-1969. Predates the CIS Annual; Indexes transcripts of hearings and testimony with supporting materials. Published between 1981 and 1985, each part covers a separate time frame. Items indexed here can also be found through ProQuest Congressional (Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus).
- CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index1833-1969. Indexes materials such as: draft reports and bills; directories; statistical materials; investigative report; historical reports; situational studies; confidential staff reports; hearings, and legislative analyses. Items indexed here can also be found through ProQuest Congressional (Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus).
- Declassified Documents Index1975-1999
- A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States [Poore]Sept. 5, 1774 - Mar. 4, 1881
- Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS ReportsAn index correlating the JPRS report numbers, with the numerical entry numbers of the Monthly catalog of United States Government publications, the numbers by which the Microprint ed. is arranged.
- Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service1916-present. Congressional Research Service reports indexed by title, report number, and order printed on microfilm. Reports can be found in MicNews A6815 and A6816.
