Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Congressional Voting Records by Member
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 1987 - current. Enter "voting records" in this advanced search box; narrow the results from this search using the righthand sidebar.
CQ's Politics in America
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 2000-2008 available online. Each member profile contains a "Key Votes" section.
2000-2012 available in print
CQ.com Members and Votes
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. Voting records can be found via a "Member Profiles" search. Current members only. Includes all votes for past year and "key votes" for a member's entire career.
Congressional Officials - Project Vote Smart
Search or browse national and state politicians for voting records. Current politicians only. Covers most votes and has extensive descriptions.
Congressional Voting Records by Subject and Year
1873-current. Online and print sources of the Congressional Record can be found on this sources by subject page. Roll Call votes are included amongst each days debates. Page numbers can identified using the Congressional Record Index, which is the last bound volume of each year, under the heading "Yea and Nay Votes”.
Key Votes - Project Vote Smart
1992-current. Search national and state votes by issue or keyword. Covers votes for which the measure narrowly passed or failed and measures that received media attention.
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 1945-2010 available online. The Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Organized by year, voting record tables are included in the appendix. To find votes by subject, browse by topic and within the desired article scroll to the "Legislative Action" section which includes a link to the table in the appendix.
1945-2008 available in print. Search the catalog
to see the options, starting with 1945
1958-2004 available in print. House and Senate votes for each week are listed at the end of each issue. Organized by vote number.
to the current calendar year's issues available. Cumulative Indexes organized by subject are available for each year from 1998-current, however access to previous year's vote charts is not included. The roll call (vote) number found via this index can be used to find that vote in another database or in print. (Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus)
Roll Call Data - voteview.com
1789-current. Contains roll call votes and compilations of data derived from the voting records. Note: the votes for a member are listed consecutively via a numeric code. A codebook correlating each vote number to its title and overall result is also included.
The Second Continental Congress voting on the U.S. Declaration of Independence.
Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.