Government Sources by Subject: Directories and Biographies

Global listing of information on development organizations.

A complete and official listing of the foreign consular offices in the United States with recognized consular officers

1972 – current, biennial. Biographies, photos, and election results for every member of congress and state governor holding office in the publishing year. Includes background information on states, maps of congressional districts, and demographics of the people in each district. Print only.

1774 - present. Information about any senator, representative, vice president, or member of the Continental Congress.

1869-current available online through GPO. Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House. Also lists Senate and House committees and their members.
1897-current available in print.
1851-2006. Various years have been digitized and archived in the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

Congressional delegations, who is up for re-election, parties and more in this guide from Proquest.

Color photographs, length of service, political party affiliations, and Congressional district for a given congress. 105th congress (1997/1998) - present available online.
85nd congress (1957/1958) - present available in print (incomplete).

1959-2003 (Incomplete). Contains contact and biographical information about House and Senate members, the committees they serve on, and a list of their staff with contact information. Select staff members also have biographies. Print only.

2000-2008 available online. A source of in-depth profiles for every member of the U.S. Congress as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting. Issued biennially.
1982-2012 available in print under the titles Politics in America, Congressional Quarterly's Politics in America, and CQ's Politics in America.

History, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts detailed for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. Print only.

Contains contact information and website addresses for offices and individuals. A listing of key officers of foreign service posts is also available in PDF format.
1989-2001 available on microfiche.
1985 available in print in the GovPubs U.S. stacks, call number S 1.21:985

Contact information for Congress and federal agencies, nongovernmental organizations, policy groups, foundations, institutions, governors, other state officials, U.S. ambassadors and foreign diplomats. Print only.

1917 - present. Historical essays, profiles, artifacts, educational resources, and data. Also available in print.

Lists local government officials and their salaries, 1934-2017.

Contact information for Washington State Courts as well as organizations related to official court business.

Contact information and website addresses for both federally recognized and non-federally recognized tribes, tribal schools, newspapers, courts, clinics, museums, casinos, and organizations. Also includes contact information for tribal liaisons in state agencies. Current edition online. 2001 print edition in special collections.

1983-current. Contains more than 8,000 directory listings for local and state officials and agencies. Includes biographies for individuals and brief descriptions of the primary responsibilities for agencies. Members of the U.S. Congress from Washington State and federally recognized tribes are also included. Print only.

Directory of the agencies of King County Government.

Pick a department for a link to that department's website or search for an individual in the staff directory.