Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Government Sources by Subject
- Foreign Relations of the U.S.
Government Sources by Subject: Foreign Relations of the U.S.
Starting Points
The Foreign Relations of the United States Series began in 1861 and from 1870-1946 was published under the title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States. The volumes in this series contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. Typically, the material is declassified after a period of thirty years or more. The Status of the Series is a list of recently published volumes, volumes currently in production, and volumes that are planned from the Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State. Published volumes are accessible via:
- U.S. Department of State1861-1988
- In Print at the UW Libraries1861-1976. Shelved in the GovPub Stacks, call number S1.1:
- HEINOnline
This link opens in a new window
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 1861-1980 - University of Wisconsin Digital Collections1861-1996. Browse volumes or search the full text. Available for Download in PDF format.
- The Cumulated index to the U.S. Department of State papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States, 1939-1945Contains locations; topics; events; publications; and personal, conference, organization, and company names in one alphabetical index. Also includes the Table of Contents from each indexed volume.
American Foreign Policy: the Series
Published under a variety of titles, this series contains the full text or excerpts from foreign policy messages, addresses, statements, speeches, interviews, press briefings, conferences, reports, letters, and congressional testimony by the executive branch of the U.S. Government.
- American Foreign Policy - Hathi Trust1941-1949 original (linked above) and revised edition
1950-1990 (incomplete) digitized from Penn State University's collection
1956-1990 (incomplete) digitized from the collections at University of Michigan and Northwestern University - American Foreign Policy at the UW Libraries1941-1949 shelved in GovPubs U.S. Stacks, call number Y 1.1/3:81-123 the revised edition, call number S 1.69:415 has a different organization and cuts 10% of the original documents, but contains additional documents, photos, maps, and footnotes.
1950-1955 shelved in GovPubs U.S. Stacks, call number S 1.71:117
1956-1967 shelved in GovPubs Stacks, call number JX1417 .A552
1977-1980 shelved in GovPubs U.S. Stacks, call number S 1.69:346
1981-1990 shelved in GovPubs U.S. Stacks, call number S 1.71/2: Supplemental documents held on microfiche, call number M-5001 S 1.71/2-2: Print index to the microfiche shelved in GovPubs U.S. Stacks call number S 1.71/2-2 - A Decade of American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents 1941-1949Text from the original 1950 edition courtesy of the Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
Foreign Relations of the U.S.: Resources
- U.S. Department of StatePolicy issues, news, embassies, fact sheets on U.S. relations with other countries, and more.
- House Committee on Foreign AffairsNews, bills, hearings, members, and more.
- Senate Committee on Foreign RelationsNews, videos of hearings, publications available for download in PDF format, a brief history of the committee, and more.
- Council on Foreign RelationsThis non-partisan think tank provides news, information, and publications international issues. The website also provides information on CFR's history and members.
- Law and Policy - Bureau of Consular AffairsInformation on public and private matters that cross borders including international law obligations, treaties, legal or public policy matters, consular issues, and letters rogatory.
- Department of State Publications - University of DenverA list of publications and Department of State divisions responsible for publications. Search the UW Libraries Catalog to view our holdings for a particular title.
- Treaties and Conventions, U.S. Serial Set - Readex
- This link opens in a new window
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. 1819-1980. Documents and reports published in the Serial Set relating to treaties and conventions. - Senate Executive DocumentsSenate Executive Documents, or Senate Treaty Documents, contain the full text of treaties. Sources for these documents can be found on the Senate Executive Documents and Reports page of the Government Publications Sources by Subject guide.
- TreatiesSources for the full text and information about treaties on this Government Publications Sources by Subject page.
- General Foreign Policy Series1948-1979. A collection of documents published by the Department of State on a wide variety of topics including the environment, human rights, missiles, and more. Print only, each document appears under its unique title in the catalog.
Secretary of State Flag
Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.
Foreign Relations - Google News
Loading ...