Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open, with new expanded hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7
UW Libraries Operations Updates
U.S. and International Technical Report Sources
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Simple and advanced search for public technical reports.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. Use the "Browse By" tab to search by date/date range, collection, NASA center, and availability type.
National Academy Press Reading Room
1,000+ full text publications available for download in PDF format on the topics of science, technology and public policy. National Academy Press is the publisher for the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
NTIS, National Technical Information Service
A central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
OpenNet, U.S. Department of Energy
Includes references to all Department of Energy (DOE) documents declassified and made publicly available after October 1, 1994. New references are added periodically as they are available. In addition to these documents, OpenNet references older document collections from several DOE sources.
U.S. Government Scientific Information; sources include over 55 databases as well as more than 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies.
TRID - Transportation Research board
Use the index term "technical report" to limit your results.
Global Science Gateway made up of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Catalogs and Citation Databases
DOE Information Bridge, U.S. Department of Energy
To enhance your search, open a citation from your results list and click on "More Like This" (under the title).
Energy Citations Database, U.S. Department of Energy
Bibliographic citations for energy and energy related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, with continued growth through regular updates.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications from July 1976 to the present.
Office of Technology Assessment
This Congressional agency, established in 1972 and closed on September 29, 1995, analyzed the complex scientific and technical issues of the late 20th century. The resources below give valuable background information on the intersection of science, technology and public policy.