Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Business and Economics
International
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Reports on politics, economics and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data for nearly 200 countries.
- Global Development Finance, The World BankScroll down to GDF and click on DATABANK
- International Financial Statistics (IFS) This link opens in a new windowSearch by country, topic or data source.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowPublications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Search by topic or country.
- UN DataDatabases accessible by topic, with timely update notices, and country data services.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionFind statistics on trade, industry, social classifications, and more.
- World Investment Report 2021 | UNCTADFocuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and includes analysis of policies, trends and topics, corporation ranking, and a statistical annex with data on FDI flows and stocks for 196 economies.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource contains development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The data is compiled by the World Bank from officially-recognized international sources. Economic data includes imports, exports, foreign investment, and more. See also the Financial Sector and Private Sector Indicators.
2005-current available online.
1997-current (incomplete) available on CD-ROM.
- World Development Reports, The World BankProduced on an annual basis, this is the Bank's major analytical publication. Each year focuses on a particular aspect of development.
United States
- SBA.gov The U.S. Small Business AdministrationAn independent agency of the federal government which aids, counsels, assists and protects the interests of small business concerns. Integrates information migrated from Business.gov
- County Business Patterns (CBP)An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry; current and historical data available.
- CPI Detailed ReportThis monthly report includes data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
- Economic Report of the President, FDsys1995-present
- FRASER: Federal Reserve ArchiveA data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system.
- 75 Years of American Finance, FRASERA graphic presentation of American financial history from 1861 through 1938
- Survey of Current Business OnlineSee also the FRASER Archive of the Survey of Current Business (1920-).
- Business Statistics of the United States"A comprehensive and practical collection of data that reflects the nation's economic performance since 1929, providing over 80 years of annual data in regional, demographic, and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more." Print only.
- Handbook of the United States Economic and Financial Indicators"Includes entries on 284 indicators. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them." Print only.
- Regional Economic Data Toolkit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Four unique US datasets created by the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER), including data on the Cost of Living Index (COLI).
Business and Economics
More Focus
- Foster Business LibrarySee in particular Business Resources on the Web and their Research Guides
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
- This link opens in a new window
Articles by leading economists from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools; contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles and links to related sites, as well as full-text of both the 1987 archived edition and the 2008 print edition.