Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
A private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States. You can focus by issue, region and, in some cases, individual countries.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS): Military Balance
Provides frequently updated data and analyses on the global military balance; dedicated efforts focus on regional balances as well.
Center of Concern: Promoting Global Justice and Peace Since 1971
This faith-based organization explores and analyzes global issues and social structures from an ethical perspective, working on projects that support both the good of the global community and the integrity of individuals.
Hague Appeal for Peace
An international network of organizations and individuals dedicated to the abolition of war and the goal of peace. The focus is education on peace and includes the coordination of the Global Campaign for Peace Education.
Incore (International Conflict Research Institute, University of Ulster
Making, keeping, implementing, building, and measuring peace ; resources include the Conflict Data Service, the Database of Psychosocial projects, the Ethnic Conflict Research Digest, and more...
The International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS)
IISS focuses on global security, political risk and military conflict; its research program targets policy themes and regional security.
The Laws of War, The Avalon Project, Yale University
Digital documents relating to law, history, economics, politics, and diplomacy with links to supporting documents. International treaties, conventions, and agreements from ancient times to the present.
The Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Collections in International Conflict Management, United States Institute of Peace
Resources by region and topic, the Peace Agreements Digital Collection, the Truth Commissions Digital Collection, and more. . .
The Military Balance, International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS)
1959-; military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide. Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus.
Peace and Security, United Nations
UN resources on peacekeeping, disarmament, decolonization, international security, women & children in war zones, and more...
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Researches conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament; provides data, analysis and recommendations.
UN Women, United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
News, resolutions, data, reports & documents and more relating to issues of women, gender, and war.
Atlas/state data abstract for the United States
Print and microfiche; maps of states with military bases and installations shown as well as many data tables for wages, and more...
DoD Personnel, Workforce Reports & Publications
Active duty military strength by service, state, and country, 1954 to the present. Works best with Chrome browser.
DTIC Online (The Defense Technical Information Center)
Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business data.
Humanitarian Civil-Military Coordination: A Guide for the Military (PDF)
Guide updated in 2014 including chapters on humanitarian security mechanisms, operational civil-military interaction, and more.
Historic Government Publications from World War II, Southern Methodist University (SMU)
Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
A research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management.
U.S. Air Force
Fact sheets, speeches, biographies, history, news and more from the Air Force.
U.S.Military Bases all over the world, Globemaster Airbases
Detailed address information and maps for US military bases (Air Force, Navy and Marines Bases, Coast Guard Air Stations and Army Air Fields) worldwide.
United States Department of Defense
U.S. military information: defense policies, organizations, functions and operations.
World military expenditures and arms transfers, U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency
Military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios.
Homeland Security Digital Library
A research collection of open-source resources related to policy, strategy and organizational management. Image credit: Homeland Security Digital Library.