Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Helsinki Accords
Introduction
The Helsinki Accords, the Helsinki Final Act, or Helsinki Declaration was the final act of the Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe held in Helsinki, Finland, during July and August 1,1975. Thirty-five states, including the USA, Canada, and all European states except Albania and Andorra, signed the declaration in an attempt to improve relations between the Communist bloc and the West. The Helsinki Accords are not binding as they do not have treaty status.
source - Encyclopædia Britannica
- Helsinki Accords - Final Act of the Conference on Security and Co-operation in EuropePDF of the Helsinki Accords from the Organization of Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE).
Print Sources
- Annuaire Européen. European yearbook.v.23 (1975)
Each volume contains a detailed survey of the history, structure and yearly activities of each organisation and an up-to-date chart providing a clear overview of the member states of each organisation. As well, each volume contains a comprehensive bibliography covering the year's relevant publications. - Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements2003 (3rd edition).
Provides nearly 6,000 A-Z entries that concern the essential concepts and philosophies of the UN, as well as peace-keeping activities, along with full coverage of every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations. - The encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreementspp.333-344, 1985 (1st edition).
- International Organization and Integrationv. 2, pt. D, 1 a & b
Annotated basic documents and descriptive directory of international organizations and arrangements.
Signing the Helsinki Accords
Signing of the Helsinki Accords by the leaders of Austria, the United States, East Germany, and West Germany.
Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.