Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Employment and Labor
International
- Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men (United Nations)Scroll down to the section titled "work" for tables on unemployment, wages, part-time employment, and more.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The Labor data is compiled by the International Labour Organization and includes unemployment statistics.
2005-current available online.
1997-current (incomplete) available on CD-ROM.
- Year-book of labour statistics: Country Profiles, International Labour Office2007-2009. Latest available statistics for each of over 190 countries, areas and territories; also includes global and regional estimates on the economically active population, employment and unemployment. Print only.
- Year-book of labour statistics: Time Series, International Labour Office2007-2009. 31 tables on economically active population, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer prices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts; usually covers the preceding ten years. Print only.
United States
- Directory of U.S. Labor Organizations1982-2006 (incomplete). Print only.
- Employment and Earnings Online, U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsApril 2007-2008; see earlier: 1969-2007, 1954-1966
- Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and other Labor Data1997-current. Data on employment and unemployment, earnings, prices, productivity, consumer expenditures, occupational safety and health, union membership, international labor comparisons, and more. Print only.
- Occupational Outlook Quarterly Online, U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsArticles that cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics such as unusual occupations, tips for jobseekers, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Also available in print.
- Salaries and Wages, U.S. Office of Personnel ManagementCurrent salary tables and related information; includes general schedule and locality pay tables, locality pay area definitions, senior executive service, and more. . .
- United States Government Policy and Supporting Position (the Plum Book), GPOScroll down the page to find this publication; includes federal and foreign service pay schedules for political appointees after presidential elections; this resources does not include all federal government employees.
- Workforce Explorer WashingtonData and analysis of Washington state's work force, employment conditions, job market and economy.
Washington State
- Employment and Economic InformationFind the Washington State Monthly Employment Report, unemployment rates, county profiles, wage reports, and more.
- Employment and Payrolls in Washington State by County and by Industry1946-2001 (no.237). Quarterly reports on wages at the state and county levels. Print only.
- Salary Stratification Report, University of WashingtonFrom the University of Washington Payroll/Personnel System, salary information specifically for the University of Washington; earlier title is State of Washington personnel detail listing.
- State Employee Salary Database, Office of Financial Management (OFM)A searchable data source providing names, job titles, and total annual earnings of all state employees; formerly known as the Personnel Detail Report, it is compiled from information provided by the state’s payroll systems.
Help Wanted
Browse This!
- Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, University of WashingtonStart by browsing the site. Contact the department for more information.
- Westlaw Campus ResearchComprehensive federal and state legal research database: case law, statutes, regulations, legal encyclopedias, and other secondary sources. Access for all on-campus; UW login required from off-campus.