Research Guides
Government Sources by Subject: Government Manuals
International
- The Statesman's Year-book1912-current. Begun as a resource for diplomats, politicians, and other involved in international affairs; the Statesman's Yearbook has includes history, politics, economics, trade, social, and infrastructure information for every country in the world. Print only.
- United Nations HandbookCurrent edition available online. The United Nations Handbook contains information on the purpose, activities, membership, and more for the organizations that make up the UN. Non-governmental organizations affiliated with the UN are not included.
1988-current available in print.
United States
- The United State Government Manual - GPOCurrent edition is interactive. Editions from 1995 to current available for download in PDF format.
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the U.S. federal government. It provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies (international organizations in which the United States participates), boards, commissions, and committees.
- United States Government Manual in Print at the UW1973 - present.
State and Local
- Washington State Yearbook1983-current. Contains more than 8,000 directory listings for local and state officials and agencies along with brief descriptions of the mission and primary responsibilities of agencies. Members of the U.S. Congress from Washington State and federally recognized tribes are also included. Print only.
- Citizen's Guide to King County GovernmentThis PDF contains contact information and brief descriptions of governmental organizations in King County.
About Government Manuals
- About the United States Government ManualA brief description of the focus and contents of the United States Government Manual.
- About the United Nations HandbookBrief description of the intended audience and contents of the United Nations Handbook.