Government Sources by Subject: Archives

"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."

"Serves as a Records Center, storing records from Federal agencies and courts in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington."

The NARA research portal, including information on how to search their records electronically and in-person, with tips on archival research and where to start.

"Access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in NARA. Out of the nearly 200,000 data files in its holdings, NARA has selected approximately 475 of them for public searching through AAD."

Part of NARA, contains records of the House, Senate, and supporting organizations.

Based on a print version with the same title compiled by Robert B. Matchette et al in 1995, this electronic guide to NARA records incorporates additional descriptive information about federal records acquired by the National Archives.

Find historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, and other materials from libraries, museums, and archives throughout Alaska.

Contains a variety of resources that are of specific interest to the genealogical researcher, including family histories, lineage books, how-to handbooks and reference guides, emigration records, as well as local, state and regional histories.

Collects primary and secondary sources that document this history of Montana, including "Adoption Records, Biographical Sketches, Birth Records, Census Records, Church Records, Death Records, Directories, Divorce Records, Family Records, General Genealogy Reference Books, Institutional Records, Land Records, Local History Books, Maps , Marriage Records, Military Records, Naturalization Records, Newspapers, School Records, Tax / Assessment Records, and Voter Records."

"Houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Oldest documents at the archives include records of the provisional and territorial governments and the Oregon Constitution."

Choose a region of interest from the list of repositories. You can also find King County Documents by keyword search at Search the Archives

"The nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value."

Choose a region of interest from the list of repositories. You can also find King County Documents by keyword search at Search the Archives

"The nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value."

"Serves as a Records Center, storing records from Federal agencies and courts in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington."

Formerly known as the Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA). Search finding aids from 36 Northwest archives in one catalog. Collection subjects include agriculture, politics, Native American cultures, and more.

A repository of historical county government records, with over three hundred collections, dating back to 1853, including paper, photographs, maps, and audio-visual materials.

"Records include those documenting engineering, parks, urban planning, the legislative process and elected officials. Holdings include over 6,000 cubic feet of textual records; 3,000 maps and drawings, 3,000 audiotapes; hundreds of hours of motion picture film; and over 1.5 million photographic images of City projects and personnel."

A guide to primary materials relating to theatrical companies and the history of theatre in Seattle. Collections held in the University of Washington's Special Collections.

Guide to finding materials in the UW Archives.

Information about various archives, libraries and research centers available to genealogists, family historians, and local historians in any particular state