Government Sources by Subject: Laws, Regulations, Constitutions

Databases, research guides, e-journals and more...

Annual reading of the U.S. Constitution, sponsored by the University of Washington Libraries

Digital documents ranging in date from 4000bce to the present in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.

The Centre for International Law (CIL) maintains a database of documents relating to international law. Also available are publications by the CIL and information about the CIL.

Includes primary materials, web site links, and research guides for 14 law categories: general, states, individuals/groups, organizations, dispute settlement, economic, communications/transport, international, environmental, air/ space/water, criminal, human rights, humanitarian, and use of force.

The portal to European Union law.

Extensive links to international, comparative, and foreign law information. For foreign law guides, be sure to click on the UPDATE link to view the most recent version.

A bimonthly journal that includes reproductions of primary legal documents accompanied by introductions [1962-1979, print only].

Information on Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools.

Information on environmental law to justice for the poor to regulation of financial markets, and much more...

This collection includes publications by the International Court of Justice, the Commission on International Trade Law, the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, the Institute for Disarmament Research, as well as Treaty Publications, Yearbooks, Serials, the Codification and Progressive Development of International Law,and more. . .

Includes hundreds of titles and more than a million pages dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!

Sources for the text of laws and an introduction to U.S. Laws on this page of the U.S. Federal Government Resources Research Guide; see also The Legislative Process to discover how a bill becomes law.

Learn how to locate federal regulations, how to participate in the regulatory process, or read about the latest regulations on this page of the U.S. Federal Government Resources Research Guide.

See Making Sense of Popular Names for a clear and concise explanation of how laws are classified in the U.S. Code and how to use this resource to get to a law by way of its popular name.

Print only.

From our U.S. Federal Government Resources research guide: an introduction to the Supreme Court, sources of information about Supreme Court Decisions, and starting points for legal research.

Alphabetical listing of cities with links to their municipal code and city website.

A table tracing Washington State laws, organized by date and subject (bills, hearings, debates, etc.), leads to resources both in the UW Libraries and online.

Find the online version of the current Washington State Constitution, the full text of session laws, tables relating bills to laws and more.

A compilation of all permanent laws now in force, and Session Laws, arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed.

1889 - current; print only.

Print only.

In the WAC, regulations, a source of primary law in Washington State, are codified and arranged by subject or agency.

"We, the people of the State of Washington..."

"The Statute Law Committee declares that the publication of the Washington State Register on the Code Reviser's web site is the official publication of the Register."

1946-2007

Print only

Constitutions throughout the world, listed alphabetically by country.

Print only. Located in the Marian Gallagher Law Library.

1974; print only. The 1965 edition is also available.

Contemporary and historical documents and resources.

The Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States, the Bill of Rights, and more...

PDF format.

Print and PDF format.

Museum, national town hall, and civic education headquarters.